The ENOUGH Campaign


ENOUGH Already…

The ENOUGH Campaign

Join the Enough Campaign..Look at the Page Above for More Information.

The ENOUGH Campaign. Another brilliant idea by Julie DeNeen.

What exactly is the ENOUGH Campaign you ask? Julie, someone I consider a friend, and who is also a fellow freelance writer and hubber, found a photo by Maria Kang on Facebook the other day. She wrote a blog post on it, which I think might have gone viral. 😉

Maria Kang created a so-called “motivational” meme of her and her three kids. The caption was less than motivating and insinuated that women who don’t look like her make excuses for being overweight. But I don’t want to go into that here, you can read all about it on Julie’s blog.

The ENOUGH Campaign is for those of us women who are sick and tired of being pummeled with photo after photo of “normal moms” that have skinny, perfectly ripped bodies. Hollywood has created this image of what a woman should look like, and it’s absolutely disgusting.

I’m not saying being in shape and “ripped” is a bad thing. I workout daily and have a decent body. But I’m no Maria Kang. I’m also not saying she’s a fraud, or that she hasn’t worked her butt off (literally) to look the way she does. But to have her perfect body, she sacrifices quite a bit. What she sacrifices, I don’t know. It could be sleep, it could be time to relax, it could be time with her family, I have no idea and I really don’t care. What I do know is that I refuse to make any sacrifices just to have a body that society says I should have.

My body isn’t perfect. I used to think I needed the flat, ripped stomach to be sexy. But that is SO not true. My husband finds me sexy no matter what my weight. So, I’m trying to move past my problems with my self-image. But that’s difficult when you’re constantly bombarded with images of what the perfect woman should look like. Everywhere you turn, there’s an image of a “size zero” woman. I’ll never be a size zero, I’ll never be the size 8 I was in high school, and I need to learn to love myself just the way I am. If not for me, for my daughter. I don’t want her to grow up thinking she has to look like these supermodels to be accepted in society because that’s absolutely not true.

That’s what the ENOUGH Campaign is all about. ENOUGH of the bombardment, ENOUGH telling me (and all the other women out there) that I can’t be sexy because I don’t look like Maria Kang. ENOUGH of the perpetual hate women have for their bodies.

ENOUGH!

Want to read Julie’s post on Maria Kang? Click here.

2 comments on “The ENOUGH Campaign

  1. Julie DeNeen says:

    Excellentness! I added it to my list of articles. I love how everyone has a bit of a different angle, but all with the same message!

I Love to Hear from My Readers! Please Leave a Comment!!

