My Love/Hate Relationship with Social Media


I HATE Facebook. I don’t mind Twitter so much, it’s only 140 characters to read, so it’s quick and painless. But Facebook just annoys me. I log in every now and then and like 50 people message me to chat…

House M.D played by Hugh Laurie

House, the lovable misanthrope everyone knows is right, but loves to hate.

If I wanted to talk to you, I would’ve messaged you first.

But I’m a self-proclaimed misanthrope. If you don’t know what that word means, think House M.D.

In fact, House M.D. is my favorite show!

One of my favorite House-isms is:

“Everybody Lies”

Mainly because it’s so true. But, I digress…

Back to the issue at hand. I hate Facebook. Although, it is useful to keep in touch with people like my sister and share photos, but it’s also a PITA. I don’t really care that you had quinoa and egg whites for breakfast (inside joke there…). Facebook is like the local hangout for all the narcissists of the world. It screams “LOOK AT ME!! LIKE ME!!!”

Twitter isn’t so bad because you can easily just scroll through all the BS looking for the gems.

Now Pinterest…

I can totally get in on that. πŸ˜€

I bring this up mainly because I broke down and started a Facebook page for this blog. I felt left out, I admit it. All my blogger friends have that awesome little “Like me on Facebook” box that taunts how many people liked them…

Now I have that little awesome box… but it’s only got one like… and that was ME! Is that completely narcissistic or what?

I also just opened up a shop on Cafepress. I was reading a free ebook called “47 Ways to Make $100 in a Day” and Cafepress was one of them. Although, the author failed to mention how much of a RPITA (that’s royal pain in the ass) the site is to use. I’ve been unable to create the design I wanted, every time I click “I’m Finished” the image refuses to load. (It couldn’t possibly be user error!)

But again, I digress…

Who came up with this social media thing anyway? I mean, how many different ways can you share a photo? You can Facebook it, Tweet it, Stumble Upon it (that one’s clever I admit), Tumble it, and Pin it… and don’t forget LinkedIn… (is that Link it?) Do we really need a gazillion different ways to share a picture?

Narcissism at its best.

22 comments on “My Love/Hate Relationship with Social Media

  1. jnine0712 says:

    You know it is funny, but I too hate Facebook and really have only been using it for the groups and to post links to my writing. I also refuse to put updates on there every 5 minutes, let alone everyday even. I can totally relate to your posy, because I have been debating starting up a Facebook page for my blog and still on the fence, because I do have my own personal FB page and was hoping that was enough. But your blog article gave me some food for thought. Thank you πŸ™‚

    • I’m so with you there! I can’t remember the last time I actually updated my FB status. I’m horrible at it, although I could tweet all day long. Some of the tweets though are even “I just went to the bathroom” or “I’m eating dinner.” I kind of wonder why people feel the need to have to update the world on what they are doing? The psychology of social media is fascinating lol. You probably should set up a FB page for your blog, mainly because most blogs have one and FB is so popular, all narcissism aside of course. πŸ˜‰

      • jnine0712 says:

        I love those Tweets though, lol!! Seriously, all joking aside I am slowly building my blog and guess I will be making a new FB page sooner rather than later. I have lost count of how many social networks pages I am involved in now. Kind of overwhelming when I sit back and think about it! Thanks again for your input on that, because I kind of needed to hear if from objective person and put into its proper perspective πŸ™‚

      • I’m guilty of tweeting some of those… they are fun, and at least with twitter they’re short and sweet! I’m with ya on the building the blog thing. I have several that I’m working on two are just for fun, one of them is pretty profitable, or would be if I actually was able to put the work into it! And thank you for the compliment, I try to be as objective as possible, but it’s not easy! πŸ˜€ Btw I love your blog, the layout is beautiful!

      • jnine0712 says:

        I am too and think aren’t we all lol πŸ™‚ I can’t ay thank you enough for the compliments on my blog. My husband does web design and when he looked at what I had done as far as layout, he wasn’t complaining so I thought it couldn’t be that bad, lol!! Seriously thank you, because I am I keep wondering if I should pay the money for a custom design and domain site, but so not sure if I should or shouldn’t.

      • Wow… lol My hubby wasn’t really helpful on designing any of my blogs either. I’m not going to invest any money into themes or custom design until the blog starts making me money. Kind of a wait and see mode…

      • jnine0712 says:

        Well sounds like we have that in common too. As for the investing in the blog, I feel the same way and am kind of leery about putting money into it unless I notice it making something and at least getting a bit of following…

      • Absolutely, I guess we’re the conservatives of the blogging world lol. I’m really debating the domain thing, but I’m definitely waiting on the themes. I know a lot of successful bloggers recommend buying a domain up front. But I’m still hesitant.

      • jnine0712 says:

        I am probably going to sound like an idiot and am still fairly new to this, but you can only really make money off of advertising if indeed you buy a domain correct?? I have been trying to find more info out about this, but still not sure if I understand it correctly πŸ™‚

      • I know on blogger you can make money from adsense, even if you don’t buy a domain. However, on wordpress, I think you have to buy a domain to actually make money form the blog itself, but I’m honestly in the same boat as you. I’m really not sure lol.

      • jnine0712 says:

        Well at least I know I am not all alone here on this πŸ™‚

  2. Julie DeNeen says:

    Goodness yes. You nailed it!

  3. Tim Chan says:

    Here are my wife’s thoughts on the subject, to add to the discussion:

    “I love it because it allows me to connect with people I would otherwise have a difficult time being able to connect with. I hate it because it aggravates my struggle with being content with the life I already have.”

    More thoughts here:
    http://timandolive.com/my-social-media-ego/

  4. flemily says:

    Just linked up with this post of yours from the Sensible moms link-up par-tay…I’m with you on the Facebook rant about people who update us on what they had for breakfast or whether they went to spinning class that day…I just want to scream, “get a life!” But I guess Facebook is their way of reassuring themselves that they are important. I find the world of social media dizzying, especially since I started blogging. Now there is no way to avoid it even though some days I just want to log out of it all…

    • lol Emily, I know what you mean. Sometimes on twitter, you get even worse updates than what someone had for breakfast. I’ve even seen bathroom updates! It’s really difficult to fit in all the social media “appearances” we bloggers have to make. It’s insane really. I did it on Monday, and that was all I ended up doing that day. Mind you, I gained quite a few followers and some traffic, but it took the whole day. I didn’t get anything else done, not even chores! lol.

      I love your blog btw!

  5. sparkling74 says:

    I am so with you on the facebook thing- the hating part of it, not the feeling left out and making one for my blog part of it. I created a classroom page for my students but did it as a business page so my real self is not out there. I just think facebook is the most assinine thing. And if you look at the people who post the most, it’s the people in high school that no one ever wanted to pay attention to anyway and there they are, telling everyone the same kind of drivel they tried to talk about in 1992. Who has time for that??? I have far more important things to do like find pictures of my butt to load to my somewhat anonymous blog!

    • lmao sparkling!! Awesome! I’ll have to check out your blog to see those pics πŸ˜‰ You’re absolutely right though, most of the people who are really active on Facebook are the ones who no one wants to listen to anyway! Kind of sad when you think about it.

  6. sisterhoodofthesensiblemoms says:

    One of the things we didn’t know when we started blogging was how much time it takes to work the social media. I have lost days to it too and it usually makes me feel a little pissy. I was sick this past week with a flu type thing and did not feel like doing anything and no one wanted to see me, so at least I had my social media to keep me company. πŸ™‚

    Would your head explode if I mentioned Instagram? Ellen

    • OMG, I have largely ignored Instagram until recently because I didn’t have an android or iphone, but now I have a kindle.. so yep… big bang πŸ˜‰ Social media does take up SO much frackin time. But I guess it does come in handy when your sick lol. Make sure you take some Vitamin C!!Thanks for stopping by!

  7. Ginger Kay says:

    I came by way of the Sisterhood of Sensible Moms link up. I have a different love/hate relationship with Facebook. I rarely update my personal account, but I read my newsfeed to keep up with important things going on in friends’ lives. The page I started for my blog, though, I’ve enjoyed. Some people never comment on my blog, but will participate on FB. I like the conversation and feedback.

    • Welcome Ginger!! I found so many new blogs through the Sisterhood of Sensible Moms, do you know how much I have to read now? lol I’m still trying to figure out what to really do with my blog FB page. I’ll have to checkout yours πŸ˜€ Thanks so much for stopping by!

I Love to Hear from My Readers! Please Leave a Comment!!

