The Lonely Writer


Yet again, Julie inspired another post! She just wrote an awesome hub about some bloggers are very lonely, and she’s absolutely right.

She inspired this post about lonely writers.

Writing is a really lonely profession. It’s just you and your computer (or notebook, whatever). I know you’re saying “But Mel, you have a family, you’re never really alone!” I beg to differ, and here’s why:

Thoughts Can Be Lonely

Writer’s are always alone; they are constantly lost in their own minds thinking about what to write next.

For some of us writers (me specifically) writing is the sole income for the home.

In my case, my husband is injured and can’t work, so I’m the only one bringing in any money. This means the majority of my time is spent on the computer trying to make the bills (which hasn’t worked yet). It’s almost as if I live alone.ย The only time I get a break is when I’m eating dinner, taking a shower, or sleeping. Even though I have a family, at the moment I don’t get to spend much time with them.

Even writers who don’t have to worry financially (and they are few and far between) are constantly writing, and that means they are constantly lost in their thoughts. Interruptions only serve to completely derail a train of thought, and that includes dinner, and family members among other things.

We’re supposed to treat writing as a job, and have a dedicated area for writing, which leads to more isolation.

So why do we put ourselves through this? Why do our spouses put up with this? Well I can only answer for myself. I originally started writing to bring in a bit of extra money to make up the difference between my husband’s pay and the bills. I really didn’t think anything would come of it. But then I found that I really enjoyed it.ย  I do enjoy writing…

But I enjoy providing for my family even more.

That’s why I, personally, put myself through the lonely writer syndrome. To provide for my family. The fact that I enjoy writing is just a plus.

Now I have to post a shameless plug for my husband’s new writing career. He recently wrote a hub on how to support a spouse who is a chronic hubber. So, for this, my fellow hubbers, is for your enjoyment:

Supporting Your Hubbing Spouse

3 comments on “The Lonely Writer

  1. Melissa, I too can relate with lonely writer’s syndrome and am also a member of this one too. But I loved reading your husband’s article on Hubpages and am now a proud supported of both you; just keeping it in the family ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you Janine!! It really can be lonely. But I have to say my hubby has been SO supportive, and I’m so proud of him for trying his hand at writing! He’s got some potential too, but I’m biased lol. I can’t wait to tell him you enjoyed his hub!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ He’ll blush tee hee…

      • Oh you are totally allowed to be biased, but have to tell you your biases aren’t unfounded. His article was so good and so very informative for the spouse of a writer. And I did leave him a lovely comment and am following him also ๐Ÿ™‚

I Love to Hear from My Readers! Please Leave a Comment!!

