Blogger/Freelancer Organization


My Home Management Binder

The writing tab in my HMN has all my blog planning sheets, goals and ideas.

If you didn’t know by now, I’m an organization junkie. I absolutely adore my home management binder. It’s an addiction really. It has everything in it, grocery lists, monthly menus, to-do lists, calendars, and all my writing stuff. I’m forever planning my days, weeks, and months. I actually enjoy it, and find it rather relaxing.

I’m also constantly searching for new and better planning pages. I’ve found the perfect blogging planner page, but for all my other freelance writing work, I have yet to find something that works for me. Until recently that is.

On my usual surf for awesome HMN pages, I was specifically looking for something to help me organize all my deadlines. I finally found something that I really liked, and it was FREE (I love free)! The site is called Productive Flourishing and their free freelancing planner pages can be found here. These pages are amazing. I’ve had to finagle how I use them, but I’ve adapted them pretty well for my needs.

…and now…

The PagesFreelance Writer Planning Page

There are several different pages to choose from, and it all really depends on your freelancing and organizational style. I have to say, it is imperative for us writers to be organized (and not just because I’m obsessed with organization). For me, I have so many projects going on at once there is no way I can keep up with all the due dates. I do have a white board that I use to put the most impending assignments (the ones that are due within the week), but some of my assignments aren’t due for 2 weeks, and these are the ones I forget about (constantly).

With these planner pages I can not only keep track of the assignments due within the week, I can also keep track of the assignments that are due for the entire month! The page above is the freelance page for the week. I love it because it has plenty of room to write what projects I’m working on for any given day, and I can even plan a certain amount of time for the project. Then, when I’m finished, I can record the actual time the project took me to complete, which is fantastic for trying to figure out how much time I’m really spending on certain clients. There’s also a section called milestones, which allows you to plan ways to finish your projects before the deadline. I have yet to use this area, but it may be helpful for those who break their projects down into chunks (you know, like my hubby and how he cleans the kitchen!).

For All My Blogging FriendsThe Blog Post Planner

I don’t know if you guys plan your blog posts, but I do. I have one sheet that I use for brainstorming ideas, and then I have this sheet. I can take my “ideas” and put them in their category on this page, and I can also schedule them. This is awesome. If you’re doing a blog post series, this sheet is a must have. I actually found a blog series on my idea page by using this sheet.

If you aren’t posting everyday this sheet may last you the month. At my current rate, I think it will only last me the week, but I have found it ever so helpful. For my fellow hubbers, this is also awesome. I printed another one to plan my apprenticeship hubs for the month!

There are other pages as well. There’s a monthly, weekly and daily action planner, plus a few other pages that I didn’t find useful, but someone else might. The monthly planner has helped me plan my earnings (so many articles per week equals so much per month etc).

I could go on and on about planning. I hope this helps those of you who are breaking into the writing world. I’m planning (ha ha) a post on my HMN for the working SAHM’s. Any help we can get is a blessing, right?

Until then, happy writing!! I leave you with a teaser picture of my HMN lol 😀

My Weekly Planner Page

This is what my weekly planner page looks like. I’d be lost without it!

10 comments on “Blogger/Freelancer Organization

  1. jnine0712 says:

    Melissa, this truly is an awesome resource and will have to look into it further. Thanks for sharing and the planner in me lives this 🙂

    • It seems like planning is almost therapeutic for me. Whenever I’m really stressed out, if I sit down with my HMN for like 30 minutes and “get myself in order,” I end up with a new perspective on things. Does that ever happen to you?

      • jnine0712 says:

        Omg Melissa yes it does all the time for me too. Trust me I get so stressed sometimes, but if I do sit quietly and plan it does take so much pressure off. So yes I can totally relate!!

      • Oh good it’s not just me lol I guess it comes with an analytical mind? I don’t know if you’re as analytical as I am (although I suspect you may be).I guess it gives me the sensation of control over the situation.

  2. ttoombs08 says:

    I think I’m gonna have to break down and make one of these, especially now that I’ll be doing more “home school” type things at home with Collin in regards to his speech.

    Thank you for this, DOM. 🙂

  3. You want to make a binder for me? 🙂 I am not very organized… I am usually flying by the seat of my pants. However, with opening my blog recently and then writing on Hupbages and then wanting to complete my book, I have found it hard to keep it all organized in my mind. So I went out and bought a binder. I have yet to do anything with it yet… but it is pretty! I guess I need to work on my organization!

    • lol you know I thought about starting that kind of a service. I posted a hub about my HMN and so many people were actually really interested in my system. Finding the system that works for you thought is the ultimate goal, because what I use may not work for you, and if it doesn’t work, you won’t use it. With all the writing I’ve been doing lately, there’s no way I could live without this thing! It has prime real estate on my desk and I’m constantly grabbing it. I have lots of reference pages in it as well, like HTML cheat sheets, laundry stain cheat sheets, you name it, I probably have it. Getting it set up is time consuming (I found it super fun though), but well worth it in the end. I have a ton of planning pages, if you tell me what you’re looking for or kind of what you need the pages to do, I’ll send you the links for ones that might work. Could save you some time 😀

I Love to Hear from My Readers! Please Leave a Comment!!

