I Work for ChaCha


ChaCha

The homescreen for ChaCha

So, in my urgent efforts to supplement our income, I’ve started working for a number of different websites. One of which is ChaCha. You know, the company that you can text, call or visit on the web and ask any question you want and get an answer? Yes, that ChaCha.

A while back, ChaCha was hiring vetters, and I applied thinking it would be something I could do while watching TV, or writing blog posts and it might make an extra few bucks a month. I applied and was accepted and then forgot about it for awhile.

I recently just went through the preliminary test (and passed WooHoo!!). I started working, “vetting” questions. A question comes in, and I have to choose the right answer out of a huge selection of random answers that have previously been given for the same or similar questions. I get a penny per question I answer, and I end up making about $1.00 a day depending on how fast the questions come in and how long I work on it. Plus, I can also get my writing done at the same time. It’s a decent income, for what I do. It pays for gas at least, but…

I Get Some of the Weirdest Questions!

These people ask anything and everything! Things like:

  • What’s the best way to masturbate?
  • How do I get a girl to like me if she doesn’t even know I exist?
  • Can a guy get me pregnant even if he’s never had a vasectomy? (No really, I had this question!)
  • What does undoing mean? (Wow, Really??)

Some of them aren’t even questions:

  • I haven’t kissed a girl and I’m 21
  • I’m Mexican
  • I’m watching a movie

And then of course there’s the explicit statements and questions, which are too explicit for me to list, but are centered around sex (some people use it like a sex hotline), and (of all things) genital hygiene.Β  Then there’s the people who just state explicit phrases for shock value. It really makes you wonder about the human race sometimes. I also wonder if these people are really this, um… ignorant? (and if they are, we’re in big trouble!)

People ask if so-and-so is right for so-and-so, if their genitalia is big, I mean it just astounds me the kind of crap that people ask! Then of course there are the people who send in their math homework. I don’t do math, if there are numbers and letters in the “equation” it ceases to be math, sorry. Thankfully there is a button for these questions: “No Suitable Answers.” Unfortunately, I don’t get paid for these questions, and I hit the button a lot!

I have to say, though, it’s a pretty easy way to make some cash since all I have to do is click a button!

12 comments on “I Work for ChaCha

  1. I am kind of intrigued… and then you said about a buck a day… another venture of the pennyless writer! πŸ™‚ I might have to check into this!

    • Honestly, it’s really not that bad. I’ve made over $17.00 in the past week just answering questions while I write my articles. So when I get stuck on a sentence, at least I’m not completely wasting time lol πŸ˜€ If you want to sign up here’s the link ; however, I’m not sure their accepting guides at the moment. But you can sign up to receive an email when they are, which is what I did. They hire pretty frequently! πŸ˜€

  2. jnine0712 says:

    Now you have intrigued me too and may have to look into this site at some point too. Thanks Mel πŸ™‚

    • You’re quite welcome! And thank you for using my favorite nickname πŸ˜€

      It doesn’t pay much, but, wow, does it add up quick! For something that you can sit and mindlessly do while watching TV, it’s not bad! πŸ˜€

      • Glad to have called you by your favorite nickname (seriously such a long day and just didn’t even realize I didn’t finish your full name there). Seriously though thank you for sharing. I have been wondering what other sites people do freelance work on to make more money πŸ™‚

      • The other site I make the most on is Knoji.com. It makes as much as Hubpages if I put an effort into it. It’s mostly product reviews and other “review” type writing. Of course Textbroker is another staple. πŸ˜€ I’m always curious as to what other sites writers are working for as well, always looking for more baskets for my eggs. πŸ™‚

      • Wow seriously Melissa thank you, because I truly need to make a few more bucks and will definitely be trying to look into these. Being a stay at home mom and only having one of us having a full time job doesn’t leave much extra money for much, so thank you πŸ™‚

      • Anytime, I feel your pain! Since Greg is disabled at the moment, I’m writing pretty much 24/7 to make ends meet. I’m constantly looking for writing sites. Don’t forget about infobarrel and wizzley. Mediapiston is another one that is similar to Textbroker, although Textbroker pays better. πŸ˜€

      • Melissa, I seriously can;t thank you enough and with Kevin being off tomorrow will be looking to those sites you mentioned on Tuesday. Just so appreciate it πŸ™‚

      • That’s what sisters do! πŸ˜€

      • So true and glad to call you a sister πŸ™‚

    • Elvis says:

      You’re right, Jnine0712, TextBroker does tend to pay better when compared to others. However, it’s important to keep as many of them handy in order to maximize your writing profits.

      I actually wrote an article on many different Textbroker alternatives:

      http://writertown.com/9-websites-like-textbroker/

      Let me know if you or anyone finds this list useful!

I Love to Hear from My Readers! Please Leave a Comment!!

