The NaNoWriMo Challenge


NaNoWriMo

I signed up for the NaNoWriMo challenge. I think I’m crazy with everything else going on, but I reminded myself that I don’t necessarily have to complete the book. Of course, it would be nice if I actually had an idea for a book.

I was browsing wordpress and happened to stumble upon NaBloPoMo. It’s a bit easier to say than NaNoWriMo! NaBloPoMo (gotta love all these names!) is the blog version of the huge novel writing competition. Yup, I’ve decided to embark on this journey as well. What can I say? I’m a glutton for punishment!

Actually, I’m just the type of person who thrives on a challenge. Plus, I figure if I keep myself busy, I won’t have time to think about all my financial issues, and I’ll be more productive that way, which for the past few days has worked beautifully. But I desperately need a schedule!

I'm a NaNoWriMo Participant

I’m a NaNoWriMo Participant!! YAY!!

I’m really excited though. I really want to write a book, and I really want to get into a blogging rhythm (I’m so much more productive when I have a routine!). I’m hoping I can turn this into a habit if I work on these projects everyday. Isn’t that how you’re supposed to start habits??

I may be asking a bit much of myself with everything going on. Our financial troubles keep getting bigger and bigger, to the point where we have to choose between lights and car insurance. But, I keep reminding myself that if I write this book, I can sell it as an ebook on amazon and it might actually net me some income. Who knows, maybe I’ll become some huge successful writer! πŸ˜€

But, for now, I have to actually come up with an idea for the damn book. Ya, I put the cart before the horse again.

For All My Writer Friends πŸ˜€

I’ve been honored to read and review a book that could help all of us out.Β  It’s called Writing For Money: The Online Writer’s Path to a Full Time Income. It has over 185 websites that hire writers, and I’m just eating this book up. I should be done with it soon, and the review will appear on my Books page (don’t worry, I’ll tweet it and post it on Facebook when I finish the review!).

So far, I’ve found the book very helpful. There are quite a few sites that I’ve never heard of, and I’ve applied for several, although I’ve yet to hear back. There are also updates, so when you purchase the book, you’ll get updates with new writing sites to try. πŸ˜€ So, THANK YOU LinkedIn for connecting me to this wonderful opportunity!

Alright, I’m off to brainstorm for novel ideas and write a ton of articles… Hey, at least I’ll get an extra hour of working time tonight with the time change!

19 comments on “The NaNoWriMo Challenge

  1. Good luck–a hefty challenge in the face of such other distractions! Looking forward to seeing everything unfold!

  2. jnine0712 says:

    Melissa, awesome that you joined NaNoWriMo and am on there too, so hope we can connect. I too have been spreading myself thin with just having gotten back online and having been hosting relatives still without power. The copywriting jobs have taken a backseat (probably shouldn’t with bills needed to be paid), but I keep telling myself the novel is the way to go and like you I can try to market it on Amazon in the end. Seriously though just not enough hours in the day!!

    • Janine, I’m not sure how to add buddies on the NaNoWriMo site, so if you know how, I’m under Daughter of Maat, please add me! πŸ˜€ I’m glad you got through Sandy without anyone getting hurt, that’s the most important thing. But, I’m sure you’ll be happy to have your house back to yourself eventually! I’m spreading myself quite thin, I’ve really pushed the copywriting to the foreground (gotta keep the internet and power on lol) and the novel and blogging are last, but I found scheduling my time has really helped. But no, there will never be enough hours in the day. Unfortunately, that thing I absolutely love – sleep – gets in the way!! (But oh how I love crawling into bed!! Best part of the day lol)

      • jnine0712 says:

        I am so with you on sleep and crawling into bed at night (love my bed and sleep and that too I don’t get enough of!). That said, I added you as a buddy on NaNoWriMo and seriously so happy to be back online and get to read, share and connect with all, especially you πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      • πŸ˜€ We just put flannel sheets on our bed because of the cool (not cold yet lol) front we have coming in. I LOVE flannel sheets, with lots of blankets… hhmmm…

        I’m glad you’re back online as well! I missed my sis!! I can totally relate to being cut off too. The last week and a half I’ve been so focused on knoji and TB that I haven’t had a chance to read anyone’s blogs, or Facebook, or even Tweet! I feel horrible, like I’ve become a hermit! lol So this month, my goal is to make time for everything. I might set aside a day just for reading and commenting on blogs and hubs. Haven’t quite figured that out yet. I think I’ll do a blog post on my schedule though lol πŸ˜€

  3. Pete says:

    Love your attitude, good luck with the challenge, can’t wait to see what comes out of it!

    • Thank you Pete!! I appreciate the encouragement (and really need it lol). I wrote my first scene yesterday and have no idea where I’m going with it, but at least I have something! πŸ˜€ This is really fun, and has given me something to keep my mind off of everything else.

  4. I didn’t even know about NaBloPoMo! That’s cool – would love to do that too, but just not this month. I take my hat off to you and all that you do! Keep going…you are shooting for the stars and can only succeed at the rate you’re going! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you Melanie!! Having a full plate like this is extremely motivating. I work better under pressure apparently! lol I have an idea, all of us bloppy bloggers should take the NaBloPoMo challenge, but we can choose our own month, like January 2013 (you know after the craziness of the holidays!)… πŸ˜€

  5. Cyndi says:

    NaBloPoMo? I want to try that! I’ll have to Google it now…I’ve been posting twice a day to my blog – one post is NaNoWriMo related and the other is photography/personal/general writing related. Fun idea! I’m also a glutton for punishment. LOL

    • I know!!! πŸ˜€ I found it on a wordpress blog post, and thought why not? Having a a tangible goal like that really keeps me in check. I’ve been much more productive today than I have in the past few weeks! It’s incredible. Both NaNoWriMo and NaBloPoMo are excellent motivational tools! lol

  6. jnine0712 says:

    Oh I missed you too Melissa and seriously if you figure out a schedule that works for all writing we are doing at this point let me know and please share, because I am so not getting it all done and feel like something is always falling by the wayside. Thanks again though and love the flannel sheets πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • lol I’m actually working on my schedule now. I’m actually taking some inspiration from Melanie’s post about her schedule. If you haven’t seen it, I’ll be posting a link to it in my next post which I hope to get up shortly. I’m fighting a migraine at the moment though, so it’s difficult to look at the screen lol. UGH! If it’s not one thing it’s another. πŸ™‚

      • jnine0712 says:

        Hope you are feeling better this morning and know all too well about writing with a headache, because I too suffer from migraines from time to time.

      • Much better thank you! I’ve had migraines since my car accident 13 yrs ago (neck injury). How often to you get them? Several times a week for me. It makes it quite difficult to write when I get the light sensitivity.

      • jnine0712 says:

        I can totally feel your pain and get them usually during that time of the month and just love being a woman during those times!! Seriously can relate and sorry you too suffer from them, Mel 😦

  7. Cari Lorine says:

    I think that you’re in a really exciting place. My husband and I have struggled a little lately, with me writing full-time. It’s all about the endgame, though, right? Good luck with your new adventures!! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you Cari!! It is all about the endgame, and the journey getting there is pretty fun despite the trials and tribulations. It definitely gives me some material for the book! lol Life would be really boring without these “adventures.” πŸ˜€ Great word for our current situation! lol

I Love to Hear from My Readers! Please Leave a Comment!!

