Better Living Through Pharmaceuticals


Yup, that’s my motto, well sort of. For the past 6 weeks, Walgreens has been out of my anxiety medication. How a pharmacy runs out of

Finally, I Got My Anxiety Med

Finally, I Got My Anxiety Meds

medication I will never understand. Don’t they freakin’ do inventory? Every time I try to refill that specific medication, they are out, always! And, it’s not just one Walgreens. It’s all of them in my area. REALLY???

They need to get someone new to do their inventory, or the person who does do it needs to do their damn job. This isn’t one of those medications that you take PRN (as needed) and it doesn’t really matter if you run out. No, this is one of those medications that I have to take twice a day, and when I don’t take it, I start getting heart palpitations, and of course I get bitchy a bit nasty.

Writing has been a real pain in the ass. With everything going on, I just haven’t been able to focus on any of my writing. I’m very surprised I got 1,034 words written for NaNoWriMo. I’ve had a hard time focusing on anything really. It’s amazing what one little pill can do.

Now, I don’t want anyone thinking I’m a drug addict or anything. I had a car accident 13 years ago that left me with almost daily migraines and severe, chronic neck pain, so I take a few (6) medications to keep everything under control. Ironically, the anxiety med helps keep the migraines at bay. I won’t go into the biochemistry (which is really interesting, I think) but suffice it to say, it works, and I’m ever so thankful that it does. But when I run out, dealing with things like our current financial situation is much worse than it should be.

There’s a Light at the End of the Tunnel

Indeed, we still have lights and internet, which means I can still work. WOOHOO!! Yay!! πŸ˜€ We also have a wonderful family member that is kind enough to helps us with rent so the landlord will not evict us (it’s the little things in life…). This also looks like a profitable month for my writing. AND, I got my anxiety pill today. πŸ˜€

So, hopefully, after the meds kick in, I’ll be able to be even more productive. Plus we went to the grocery store today (we do our shopping once a month), and we now have food! YES! I have a lot less to worry about now (good thing I got my anxiety pill huh?)

NaNoWriMo Update

I made it to 1,034 words, but haven’t written anything since (that lack of focus thing again). I just don’t know where I want the story to go. Do I want to make it a love story? Or a mystery? The original plan for this book was a mystery that took place in an ophthalmologist’s office. But I’m not sure I want to go that route anymore. I’m also still getting hung up on dialogue, although I’ve been given some articles to check out on the subject (thanks Terrye!).

I’m also getting hung up on how much detail to put in each scene. (I’m new to this novel writing thing, can you tell?) I did finally figure out a name for my MC. Her name is Emily, but I haven’t figured out her last name yet. My secondary character’s name is Preston Fletcher. I really like that name. πŸ˜€ I actually have more of his character developed than Emily’s. In my head, anyway.

I posted a short excerpt on the NaNoWriMo website, so feel free to check it out. If you have any ideas for Emily’s last name, feel free to leave them in the comments below!! Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. It took me four hours to pick her first name!

8 comments on “Better Living Through Pharmaceuticals

  1. jnine0712 says:

    Mel, I can’t even imagine what you are going through with the migraines. have to try to go back on low dose birth control now and this always gave me migraines even more so during that time of the month. I am dreading it and have a feeling I will be off birth control after the first month if that is the case. As for them always being out of your medicine that is Walgreens’ for you. I, too, use Walgreens down the road from our house and they always have some sort of issues with their pharmacy. So I can relate to pharmacy issues with Walgreen’s. By the way, when I heard the name Emily, I thought of the full name Emily Morgan for some reason, but that is just me πŸ™‚

    • Interestingly, I was on BC pills for awhile, and they actually got rid of the migraine I would get before my period. But after 6 months I had break through bleeding. My body just doesn’t do well with hormones. My hormones are way out of whack to begin with! That really sucks that BC pills actually GIVE you migraines!

      I usually always have problems with Walgreens too, even when it’s not that medication, they either have problems with insurance, or they never get the order. It’s always something.

      Funny that you mention Emily Morgan. My hubby suggested that this am. So Emily Morgan it is!! πŸ˜€

  2. Amy says:

    That is crazy that they don’t have your meds in stock!! Chronic pain and anxiety go hand in hand. I know anxiety meds were essential to me when I was at the height of my daily migraines. It did help with the pain.
    I have tried some natural stuff to ease the anxiety (not that it is nearly as effective as the real deal) but maybe you could get by with it until they get yours in stock. I tried Sam-e and Clarocet with some success.
    Good luck with Nanowrimo. πŸ™‚

    • @Amy, I know!!! And it was like 6 weeks that I went without it! They’re lucky I didn’t go postal on them!! lol And you are so right about the chronic pain and anxiety! I’ll have to try the Sam-e and the Clarocet, because every time I order my med, they’re out, so I’m sure I’ll need it. Thanks for the suggestion!

  3. Cyndi says:

    Aww…hang in there – it sounds like things are on the up and up. I quit my job for a dream and I can totally relate to what you’re saying. As for my novel, I’m writing something cohesive, I think, but I have no idea where I’m going. Writing without thinking. We’ll see where I end up. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Cyndi! I’m hangin! lol Things are starting to look up, let’s hope the trend continues! I really have no idea where my novel is going. I’m way behind because I don’t know what else to write and what direction I want to take the story. I’m sure an idea will pop into my head eventually. πŸ˜€

  4. It’s so much fun trying to figure out what to name your characters, isn’t it? I’ll be honest – it took me about a week and going through many, many baby naming websites and mixing up names before I finally found mine. I love it though. Maybe you should give some of them a try if you haven’t already? I love your character’s name – Preston Fletcher. Very cool Good luck, you’re doing great!

    • It is fun naming the characters, but it’s also quite difficult! lol. Preston’s name was easy, but my MC, Emily, was much more difficult. I still haven’t come up with names for the rest of the characters yet! lol I’m going to have to set aside time to focus on characters. Otherwise it’ll never get done! lol

I Love to Hear from My Readers! Please Leave a Comment!!

