“My First Haircut”


Sam's Ponytail

This is how much I cut off!

With all the excitement of the election, I thought I’d blog about something a little less volatile.

Since we don’t have a lot of money, I’ve given myself a haircut, and it didn’t come out all that bad. Tonight, my daughter said she wanted her hair cut short, like mine. I think I asked her if she was sure for about half an hour before I actually did it. Yup, I put her hair in a ponytail and cut it. πŸ˜€

It’s about 12 inches long!! Her hair is super short now; I think it’s even shorter than mine (and I keep cutting mine!). She looks SO different, but she’s so freakin’ cute!! I thought she was going to cry her eyes out after I cut it because it is just so much shorter than it was, but she absolutely loves it.

I’m so relieved!!

The Process

Sam's New Haircut

Sam’s new haircut. Isn’t she cute??

I have no idea how to cut hair, well.. I have some idea, but I (unfortunately) didn’t have enough time to do it right (I can always fix it right?). So I put her hair back in a ponytail and cut it off (see above photo!).

After I cut the ponytail, I put vitamin E in her hair to condition it since we had just washed it, ran the brush through it, and then I evened it out a bit. It still needs to be evened out, and styled a bit, but you wouldn’t be able to tell that by her reaction and enthusiasm. She was bouncing all over the place!! Then she sat on the couch and said the “all this election stuff made me tired.” Right, it was the election, not all the bouncing around! πŸ˜€

The Election

The Back View of Her Hair

It doesn’t look too bad for a hack job huh?

Okay, I had to add something about the election because I have a video to add. My daughter went nuts when Obama won re-election (as did I). She had a message for Mitt Romney. Unfortunately, I didn’t catch it when she first said it, so I had to have her repeat it. But it actually came out even funnier the second time around! πŸ˜€

A Message for Mitt Romney
Sorry I couldn’t embed the video, but money is tight. πŸ™‚

Okay, one last picture of Sam’s haircut… πŸ˜€ Okay two more lol

Too Cute

She’s such a ham!

The Side View

It’s wicked short!! lol

8 comments on ““My First Haircut”

  1. jnine0712 says:

    Mel, your daughter is so damn cute and wanted to just give her a big old hug after watching the video, too. Great job on the haircut. Seriously I would be too afraid that I would screw it up if I tried on either of my kids, so props to you πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • lol, she’s only cute if you don’t know her! lol πŸ˜‰ SHe is adorable, she’s been such a ham with her new bob! I was actually scared to death to cut it, which is why I think I asked her a million times if she really wanted me to do it!! lol Thankfully, it didn’t come out bad. It looks even better today because her hair is way like Mommy and Daddy’s so you can’t really tell where it’s messed up lol πŸ˜€

  2. You guys are brave… I went to school to cut hair and even I won’t cut my own hair. I am not sure if it is because I would tell each part that I hacked off badly or if I am afraid of cutting off my ear! πŸ™‚

    • lol, I can understand the fear!! I was too chicken to cut my own hair, so I had my hubby do it (that way I can blame him lol). I might need to do some research on cutting hair online, especially with money as tight as it is!! πŸ™‚

  3. Cari Lorine says:

    She’s adorable!! I’m sure she’d be beautiful either way, but her new bob definitely works!

  4. Cyndi says:

    My husband and I both cut our own hair. You get better at it the more you do it. My sister cuts hair, so I would watch her. Besides, it’s just hair. If you don’t like it, you just have to wait a little while and it’ll grow back out. Your daughter’s hair looks cute. πŸ™‚ Good job!

    • My hubby wants me to cut his hair too, but I’m not sure how to cut a guy’s hair. I’m using regular scissors too, not actual shears. Although, it might be cost effective to invest in a pair of hair cutting shears at this point lol! πŸ˜€ I still have to even Sam’s hair out, but it really doesn’t look bad! tee hee!

I Love to Hear from My Readers! Please Leave a Comment!!

