The Pot of Gold at the End of the Rainbow


Photo by SatyrTN CC BY SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Photo by SatyrTN CC BY SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Thank you!

To everyone who kept us in their thoughts and prayers.Β  Apparently, someone heard them.

Yesterday, we were told a settlement had been reached in regards to Greg’s workman’s comp case. Although I can’t go into any details until the case is completely closed, I can say we’re getting an advance that will keep us from getting evicted.

WOOHOO!!! πŸ˜€

Today, we got a letter in the mail that reversed the state’s decision to deny him unemployment. He’ll be calling Monday to determine how to get the retro pay, and if there is anything else we need to do. But it looks like everything is going to be okay.

Again, Thank you!!

Moving Forward

Our venture on eBay has been quite lucrative. We’ve made enough to pay the two remaining bills this month, although whether or not the money will be cleared by the due dates I’m not sure. But at least we have the money!

I’m still fighting to get my checking account back. Getting a hold of an attorney is proving to be quite difficult. This whole thing is a real pain in the a$$, especially considering the debt is well over 7 years old. Isn’t there a statute of limitations on these things? You know, like if it’s no longer showing up on your credit report they can’t garnish anything or attempt to collect? I mean come on, the credit bureau doesn’t even list the debt anymore. WTF??

However, with the recent developments in earnings (YAY and again thank you to everyone!), I’ve been able to turn my attention to other, more important things like:

  • Working on this blog as well as the other 3 blogs I’ve been neglecting, you know, the ones that actually make me money.
  • My writing career
  • Homeschooling Sam
  • Working toward the minimalist lifestyle of my dreams.

It’s refreshing to not feel like Atlas with the weight of the world on my shoulders. It’s also a bit frustrating. Only because I’m just not as productive when I don’t have any pressure, and I’m really no good at pressuring myself. I am, however, working on setting some goals for 2013. Has anyone else started thinking about their 2013 goals?

Yule

Also called the winter solstice, Yule is on the 21st, which is also the day the Mayan calendar ends. Don’t worry, I’m not one of those people who thinks the world is coming to an end. But I do think it’s a special occasion. I mean come on the Mayan civilization was extremely advanced for their time.

I don’t know why the Mayan calendar ends. It could end on the 21st simply because they decided not to go any further, or it could be some society changing event. What I do know is the galactic alignment is something worth celebrating (in my opinion), if only because it only occurs once every 26,000 years. That’s just cool.

And that makes this Yule just a bit extra special for us, especially since we’re tree hugging dirt worshippers. πŸ˜€

We haven’t gotten out Yule tree up yet, we didn’t think we were going to be able to put it up with the impending eviction. But now we can. Tomorrow, we’ll pull out all the decorations and get the tree up. I’ll have plenty of pictures to post I’m sure. Sam just loves decorating the tree, and I’m sure she’ll be hamming it up for whoever has the camera!

It’s nice to be able to focus on what really matters.

A star for ben

4 comments on “The Pot of Gold at the End of the Rainbow

  1. Melissa, I am just so happy it worked out and definitely was a nice Christmas miracle πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  2. ttoombs08 says:

    I am so glad to hear that things are finally turning the corner for you guys! Congrats!

I Love to Hear from My Readers! Please Leave a Comment!!

