REALLY?


The Blood on Greg's Pants

Blood is always fun to get out of clothes…

I couldn’t think of a better title for this post because apparently, Murphy only took one day off…

I got absolutely nothing done. I was attempting to get back on my biphasic sleep schedule yesterday, but was rudely awakened by Greg who entered the room with blood dripping from his arm…

No joke, there’s blood on the floor, the bed, and his pants.

It’s times like these that make me SO thankful that I spent 16 years in medicine. I have no problem with blood (vomit and saliva – I’m not so great with). My husband, on the other hand, has hemophobia, but only when its his own blood. He’ll usually start hyperventilating, and then pass out.

What happened, you ask?

This morning, apparently, our two boy cats who are brothers started a horrendous fight. Unfortunately, with everything going on, we haven’t had a chance to get them fixed. We’ve just been keeping the boys separated from the girls until we can get them to the vet. The two brothers, Seth and Osiris, haven’t been fighting up until recently so it really wasn’t a problem. Normally their fights are pretty easy to diffuse before they get bad. But since cats do fight to the death, we have to break them up.

Some of the Deeper Scratches

Seth apparently bit into the back of Greg’s hand. The top laceration is pretty deep. I even offered to put a stitch in it because it was just that deep.

I’m pretty good at it actually, I can usually snag one when they take a break and start screaming at each other, and I can typically calm them down (that’s a whole other blog post though…). In fact, they typically don’t fight when I’m in the room. They do fight more when Greg is in the room though. Cat psychology is pretty interesting…

But Greg has a harder time splitting them up. He typically always gets scratched – but not this bad – and has a tendency to excite the situation rather than extinguish it. This time, however, it looked like he was a cat in the fight itself!

The lacerations on Greg’s arm are horrible. They’re actually superficial, but cats are meant to make their prey bleed profusely so their claws tear flesh instead of cutting it despite the fact that they are razor sharp. They’re also covered in dander which can cause horrible itching. So Greg’s lacerations look worse than they really are and true to form, they bled profusely.

I was taking my 4.5 hour nap at the time of the incident, and I woke up when Greg came into the bedroom winded and pale, dripping in blood asking me to clean him up. He sat on the edge of the bed, and about 5 minutes later passed out. About 30 seconds after he went unconscious, his eyes dilated and his breathing became erratic. Then he went into what looked like a myoclonic seizure. Although I can’t say that definitively. It only lasted about 10 seconds, and I think he could actually hear me. He became really pale too, but that’s normal for someone with hemophobia. I think he simply had a vasovagal response.

I used iodine to clean up his wounds, and rinsed the excess blood off his arm with some water and treated the scratches with vitamin E. I then gave him 8,000mg of vitamin C to prevent infection.

The Lacerations on Greg's Arm

They really do look worse than they are!

But That’s Not All

Nope, of course that wasn’t the end of the horrific day. Nope, the landlord sent a text threatening to evict us again on the 18th if we don’t have the money. This woman is really beginning to get on my nerves. On top of EVERYTHING ELSE, we have to deal with her threatening us. I understand she wants her fucking money, but does she really need to threaten?

Oh there’s more. Greg’s parents sent him an email telling him that they won’t be helping him anymore. And, you know what, that’s fine. In fact, it’s probably for the best because now I won’t have to worry about kicking them out of my house again! ๐Ÿ˜€

I still have a migraine by the way – this is like day 3.Screen Goo

Greg was supposed to go get my pain meds yesterday, but the cats had other plans. It’s been CRAZY around here as of late. It’s really starting to get on my nerves.

Did I forget to mention that my laptop – the one I purchased specifically for freelance writing less than a year ago – needs to be repaired? Yep, the only working computer in our home (not a tablet or smartphone) has a problem. The screen looks as if there is some type of fungus growing on it, or like grease somehow got on the back of the screen.

I believe it’s caused by humidity, but I really don’t know what it is or how it got there. I didn’t spill anything on it, and nothing happened (that I know of) that would cause liquid to somehow get where it is. And it slowly advances. It took 3 weeks for it to get where it is now… (see photo)

It is bugging the absolute shit out of me. The laptop is under warranty, that’s not an issue. The main problem is that I’ll be without it for a while, which means there won’t be any money coming in while it’s being fixed.

Awesomesauce!!

Hence, why I haven’t taken it in for repairs as of yet. I keep thinking that things will settle down in a few weeks, and I’ll be able to go a few days without writing or posting something on eBay. But, unfortunately, that’s hasn’t been the case. If anyone knows what the mysterious screen goo is, please let me know in the comments, especially if you know how to fix it.

A Quick Note

If you’re thinking about redoing your blog and want some AMAZING help, check out my friend Amy’s blog. She’s hosting a giveaway for the site Fabulous Blogging which is a site dedicated to helping bloggers get their start. All the details can be found on Amy’s post about the giveaway. ๐Ÿ˜€

8 comments on “REALLY?

  1. Davenmidtown says:

    Actually there is a fungus that grows between the screen of some gadgets like laptops….contact the manufacture. Hopefully the rest will get better.

  2. I am not sure about the laptop issue, but just wanted to say I am sorry for all that has been going on in your life as of late. And do hope things start to get better for you guys. By the way, Kevin also passes out at the sight of his own blood. He once worked at King Kullen when he was in college. He cut his hand with a box cutter. Actually superficial wound and no need for stitches, but still passed out. So, I can relate to that part of your story a bit.

    • Awe, thanks Janine. Greg was happy to hear that he isn’t the only one who passes out when he sees blood lol. You know, it’s funny now, but at the time it was pretty scary. As for the laptop, I think Daven is right. I looked up the mold thing, and apparently this is pretty common. The screen has to be replaced, which is better than having to get a new laptop and considering its under warranty, it may just be a nuisance more than anything else. Just enough to irritate me right lol ๐Ÿ˜€ Btw, what’s King Kullen?

  3. Sorry about all this! I just know it’ll get better – little by little.
    Um…so hemophobia. I don’t really get that when it’s on me, but when I see it on someone else, boy I get woozy.

    • Thanks Cyndi! Honestly, I think if Greg saw a lot of someone else’s blood, he’d pass out. Blood has never bothered me though, just vomit, and saliva. Weird huh? I can handle pus in an eyeball, but I can’t stomach saliva. Talk about idiosyncrasies!

  4. Stacy Harris says:

    Oh no…. I honestly don’t know what to say. Although I am right there with your husband. I hit my head a few months ago and knocked myself out. I passed out for 5 minutes. My problem – blood… not just mine (although that is worse) but any blood in general. Good thing you can handle it. I too would have been on the floor. I hope your luck changes around soon.

    • Honestly, I think it takes a certain type of person to be able to handle the sight of blood in a medical capacity regardless of whose it is. How’s you head? Sounds like you hit pretty hard!! yes, hopefully our luck will change, but you know, if we didn’t have bad luck, we wouldn’t have any luck at all! lol. I heard you’ve been going through some stuff too, so right back atcha! ๐Ÿ˜€

I Love to Hear from My Readers! Please Leave a Comment!!

