Mommy Writing Organization


The front page of my HMN

If you’re a regular reader, you know how much I LOVE to organize! I’ve rearranged my desk I don’t know how many times in the past few weeks. It seems every time I have writer’s block, I end up cleaning my desk, or the kitchen, or vacuuming etc.

If you haven’t already, you may want to read my post on my Home Management Notebook. I have found my HMN to be indispensable. It has helped me keep the bills, chores, and even my writing in order. I’ve saved quite a bit on groceries too by using the menu planners I’ve found.

Although, recently, I did reorganize my HMN, but that’s another post.

Today, we’re talking about blog planning!!

2013 Blogging Planner

This is the 2013 Blog Planner I’m Using!

I run four different blogs. Three of which actually make me a bit of money thanks to Google Adsense. Mommy Writings by Daughter of Maat is not one of the profitable blogs (although one day I hope to move it over to it’s own domain so that it will be).

But it isn’t easy to keep track of that many blogs. It’s even harder to keep track of the ideas for blog posts that I have for each of them. So, I desperately needed a separate blog planner. But what about your HMN? Well, that keeps track of all my Hubpages writing and apprenticeship stuff. But if I put anything else in that binder, it will explode I swear.

I searched the web high and low for the perfect blogging planner. But that proved to be an exercise in futility. Then a few weeks ago, a fellow Bloppy Blogger found one… The PERFECT blog planner… It was tailored for one specific blog, but you can easily use it for multiple blogs.

What’s really nice about this planner is that it has a monthly calendar, a to do list, and pages for planning individual posts.

Plus, it’s a bit girly! 😀

I love all the flowers on this planner. Each month has different color flowers. It really just makes this planner a joy to use. I tend to be one of those people who won’t use their planner at all if it isn’t aesthetically pleasing. My HMN has lots of colorful and cute pages for just this reason!

The layout of the planner is also important though. If the pages aren’t user friendly, I won’t use it (I know, I’m finicky!). So the fact that I actually use this planner and like it, speaks volumes!

Here are a few pictures of my Blog Planner. Sorry for having to blur out my ideas… but that’s classified information.. 🙂

This is what my blogging planner looks like when you open it.

I love the calendar page, it has little boxes for FB, Twitter, G+ and Pinterest that you can check mark after you promote your blog on those networks.

The to do and blog post idea lists.

There’s plenty of room for making notes on future blog posts and on hosting giveaways or doing reviews.

I love the beautiful flowers in this planner.

The other awesome thing about this planner is that you can print as many copies as you need of a single page. For example, I don’t do a whole lot of giveaways, but I do make notes about each post I plan. So I made extra copies of the post planning pages and only printed one of the giveaways page. I also printed extra to do lists.

To save space and paper I printed the pages on both sides. I was going to get it spiral bound, but thought better of it, since spiral binding really doesn’t last very long with me!

Since one of my goals was to post at least 6 times a week, I’ve found this planner to be extremely useful. Although, I admit, I haven’t been using it as frequently as I should! But it does help to keep me motivated.

But if you don’t like this planner, there are other options. Terrye Toombs found more planning pages for both an HMN and your blog. The site is called The Peaceful Mom. I really liked some of her pages as well, and traded some of my HMN pages for hers. Plus they’re all in blue, and that’s my favorite color!!

How do you plan your blog posts? Let me know in the comments below!!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

6 comments on “Mommy Writing Organization

  1. Kate Hall says:

    I love this idea. I followed your links on your last post about this and printed out the blog schedule sheet. But then I realized that I needed something a little different, so I went and made my own spreadsheet with exactly what I needed, but this was an awesome starting place. Thank you!

    • That’s awesome! I’m so glad I could inspire you to create something that works perfectly just for you!! I dislike Excel, and I’m not really good at designing forms etc, so I find ways to modify the pages I find online. But making your own pages is really the only way to get exactly what you want. You may want to do a blog post about it and get some feedback on them. If people like the layout, you may want to think about selling them on Etsy. That’s how quite a few moms have gotten into the printables business!

  2. I honestly just write what I am thinking most times for my blog. And otherwise, I have sponsored posts, which I place in when I get asked to do them, plus giveaways, but I admit that as much as the planner looks cool, I just can’t get into it. I am more the type that has to do this as they happen and even though I am ahead in my writing and pre-schedule. Most of my posts are just my thought and feelings at the moment I write them. So, I can’t plan what I am thinking or feeling if that makes sense. I wish I could plan, but like I said it just isn’t really how I operate when I am writing if that makes sense. I love your posts on this though and am truly sure these will help so many. If you could monetize, I would tell you to check out Top Mommy Blogs forums, because there is an Etsy store looking for someone to run a giveaway with her. Her store deals exclusively with blogging planning materials. It would totally be a perfect fit for you.

    • Some people just can’t get in on the planning thing. I can only plan so much, like I just plan what posts I intend to do, not when I do them. I use the calendar mainly to record when I post them so I don’t do it more than once lol.That giveaway would be perfect. I really need to get my blog over to its own domain, but unfortunately, it’s gonna cost me a pretty penny since I bought the .com through wordpress.com 😦 oops lol

  3. Terrye says:

    I think I’ve been putting it off long enough and it’s time for me to get organized. This winging it stuff ain’t cutting it. 🙂 Great job, DOM! And thank you. 😉

    • I have another blog planner that I found, I’ll have to post it on my weekly recap. It’s a bit different than the one on this page. I mixed and matched the two 🙂 I know what you mean about winging it. I have forgotten I don’t know how many great ideas I’ve forgotten because I didn’t write them down! So frustrating! lol Your Welcome btw! 😀

I Love to Hear from My Readers! Please Leave a Comment!!

