How I Started My Career as a WAHM


I’ve been a WAHM for a little over a year now, and wow has it been a crazy one! I have to say, I’ve enjoyed it for the most part, but I do miss my career.

I spent 16 years as an ophthalmic technician. In English, that means I spent eight hours a day performing eye exams on patients. I would check their vision, pressures, glasses prescription and dilate them before they saw the ophthalmologist. I thoroughly enjoyed my career, and if I may say so:

I was DAMN good at my job.

But the office politics zapped the joy right out of it, and it became just a paycheck. I began to dread waking up and going to work because the doctor I worked for had absolutely no integrity, and that is something I just can’t deal with. Integrity is my #1 value, and I will not sacrifice it for a paycheck or anything else. That’s just how it is.

So, I quit.

To make a long story short, the doctor tried to get me in trouble. I won’t say anymore than that because it really is a long and boring story. But suffice it to say he lied through his death when I asked him point blank what he had said. I stormed out of the office and gave my 2 weeks notice.

Fuck him and the Porsche he rode in…in… on… whatever.

After getting extremely behind in rent, my loving sister bailed us out, and Greg finally found a job. I decided to take some time off because I was so fed up with the bullshit. I started catching up on craft projects that I had yet to finish, like my daughter’s birth announcement that I was cross stitching, as well as a crocheted blanket I started for my sister.

After joining HP, I applied to the apprenticeship program to hone my SEO skills.

After awhile though, we needed more income. So I took to the internet to find legitimate jobs I could do online to make a bit of extra money. That’s how I found Hubpages. I wrote a couple of articles and published them on HP, and I started getting comments, and traffic. That made me think I might be able to make the extra income we needed to keep our heads above water.

After further research, I found that I could actually be a freelance writer and make a decent amount of money. I found several other websites that I could write for such as Knoji (then Factoidz) and Textbroker. I later found out that Textbroker was considered a content mill, but it kept the lights on (literally, I made enough at TB to pay a few electric bills that would have otherwise been left unpaid), so I wasn’t about to snub my nose at it.

A few months later, Greg was injured on the job. He suffered an inguinal hernia and has been out of work ever since, about 7 months now. During this time, my freelance writing has kept us afloat by paying the electric, phone and car insurance. I still don’t make enough to pay the rent, however.

During my time on Hubpages, I met some WONDERFUL friends including Julie DeNeen, Janine Huldie, Cyndi Calhoun, Bill Holland, Terrye Toombs, and Anna Eddins-Campbell (plus many others I’m sure I’m forgetting to mention and to whom I deeply apologize!). I must say without these people in my life, I would have failed miserably before I ever got started. They are my own little cheering squad. They have continually supported me and urged me to keep going and not give up.

So instead of giving up, I started writing for other sites such as InteractMedia. I also write for three other blogs aside from this one. Although, I admit, it’s hard to keep up with all four blogs and still be able to write for the other sites such as HP.

WAHM Tips

The Fabulous Blogging Website

This is a must read for those just starting out in the blogging world.

For moms looking to get into the blogging world, it’s extremely important for you to think about the platform you want to use for your blog. If you are hoping to make a bit of extra income, I would recommend blogger, especially if you are just starting out. It’s free and you can make money through adsense.

WordPress is definitely the better platform; however, they are also very strict on what you can do. If you have a blog with WordPress.com (such as this one), you can’t put any ads on it, even if you purchase the .com upgrade for $18.00. If you want to blog with WordPress, I highly recommend you purchase your own domain host and use the WordPress platform. For more information on this rather confusing subject, check out Fabulous Blogging by Julie DeNeen. If you need help getting your blog set up, she’s the one to go to!!

Freelance writing isn’t a get rich quick scheme. In fact, you most likely won’t get rich at all. There is also quite a bit of work involved. But if you’re willing to but in the work, it’s a very rewarding way to make a bit of extra income and still be able to take care of your family.

Next month, I’ll be featuring a new series with guest posts from other WAHM who have been successful in creating an online blog and still have time to spend with their families. If you’d like to be a part of this series, please let me know in the comments or use the contact form on the About Me page.

Tomorrow’s post will talk about keeping your life organized, and the importance of setting goals.

Please Vote For Me! A Vote a Day is All It Takes!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

10 comments on “How I Started My Career as a WAHM

  1. I was reading this and shaking my head in agreement to so much of what you wrote. I can’t say enough how much I love bogging and the joy I get from it, even though I am still not making much. I truly just love it. That said, you know I am so very happy to be friends with you and just happy that we found each other. So it works both way and thanks for being my friend, too ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks Janine! I love blogging too, but I really like writing for HP. Mainly because I really like writing about medicine. Your Awesome, I’m lucky to have you, really the pleasure is all mine. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. stacyharris28 says:

    I am pretty fortunate. My husband makes enough from his job to support us. It is tight, but I don’t need to rely on any of the income I make from blogging or writing online. The extra income is nice, but I must say, not having the extra stress is also nice. I tried textbroker and found I just couldn’t do content mills. I could not write it no matter how hard I tried. Glad you are making enough money to be able to pay some of the bills! It shows that it is possible! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Indeed it is possible, but it takes a lot of work. If I was able write all day without interruptions, and if I could keep my focus for that long, we wouldn’t have any financial problems lol. Content mills aren’t what I really want to write, but its decent money if you can detach yourself from what you’re writing and realize that you’re just writing those particular articles to pay the bills and they don’t have to be perfect, it’s a lot easier. But they’re not for everyone. ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. flemily says:

    I feel like I should try Hubpages again because I only published a few hubs and gave up…I’m so focused on my blog that I was finding it hard to produce hubs as well. I guess I’m not a great multi-tasker, though I do love the writing life!

    • Making money at HP takes a lot of time. I’m finally making close to $150 a month there and each month that total grows. But it’s taken me over a year to get to this point. It’s well worth it in the end though. I don’t have to write their as frequently to maintain traffic as I do on the blog and I still make money. I would highly recommend trying again. With you’re writing style you could do really well there! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. JSMatthew says:

    Here’s to your ongoing success! I love to hear success stories especially from fellow Hubbers. I am getting back into blogging after a brief hiatus and is wonderful to read success stories like yours. Keep up the good work!

    JSMatthew~

    • Thank you!! I’m not sure how much of a success story it is since the main bill – rent – isn’t paid. But it’s nice to see some money coming in and knowing I made it working from home. That’s a good feeling, so I guess I have been successful. ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. Ack! Sorry I didn’t see this immediately. You’re so sweet and thank you so much for the shout-out. We all gotta support each other – without that, it’s hard to row this boat we’re all in, hehe. Happy day to you! Always believe that you can do it, because you can!

    • It’s okay!! I have a tendency to miss posts with my names in them as well. In fact I just found a hub that was written about me! It’s like 2 months old I think!! I feel horrible!! ๐Ÿ™‚ So no worries!!

I Love to Hear from My Readers! Please Leave a Comment!!

