The Apprenticeship is FINALLY Over!


AP Alum

I have an AP Alum badge and my profile now says Apprenticeship Alum! YAY!!

My apprenticeship at Hubpages has finally come to an end. While I’m sad that it’s over to a certain extent, I’m more relieved that I actually made it through and graduated!

Publishing eight hubs a month, and writing for three other websites and a blog is extremely difficult. I, frankly, don’t know how I did it, but I’m glad I did. I know have access to all the lessons from the past six months, so I can actually go back through at my own pace.

I did learn quite a bit, however. Mostly about how to title a hub and what the formula is for a great hub layout. I’ve also developed quite a little niche. Most of my AP hubs were on eye diseases and disorders (and other medical topics) so I have a nice little portfolio of 105 hubs.

Now I Can Catch Up On…

About a bazillion things that I have been neglecting including:

  • Reading
  • Blogging
  • Cleaning
  • Craft projects
  • Homeschooling
  • Gaming
  • Planning
  • Decluttering

I’m sure I forgot a few things. I really have so much to catch up on; I have three other blogs that I’ve completely ignored for the past few months, piles of magazines and ophthalmic journals that I haven’t read, and Sam’s way behind in her homeschooling.

Let’s not forget about the family finances!

Yup, way behind on all the bills too, but I’m not entirely sure that has anything to do with the apprenticeship! But maybe I’ll just blame it on that anyway…

On a Lighter Note

Greg was recently watching YouTube on the Xbox and he found a story about colleges putting their classes online… FOR FREE. I’m not kidding. Colleges like Duke University and Ohio State are putting classes like “Medical Neuroscience” and “Genes and the Human Condition” on a website called Coursera, FOR FREE!!! You don’t get actual college credits, however.

I was checking out this site this am, and I was like a kid in a candy shop! Greg was laughing at me because I was giggling about neuroscience and biochemistry like a schoolgirl! I signed up for 14 classes already. I even found a couple of writing classes!! I highly recommend the site. It’s free, you get access to all the video lectures and quizzes, etc. Talk about some AWESOMESAUCE! I’ll never get caught up on anything with this site!!

I know I promised a post on the importance of organizing and goal setting, no you didn’t miss it. That post will be up tomorrow, I promise!

 

10 comments on “The Apprenticeship is FINALLY Over!

  1. Congrats on finishing the apprenticeship and so not sure how you did it, but huge props to you my friend! So awesome and very happy for you πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • I’m really not sure either, especially with everything going on. But I did. I may need to reread the last two months worth of hubs, they may not make much sense lol It was well worth it though. I think it really helped improve my writing, or at least gave it a bit of polish!

  2. Rich Rumple says:

    Congrats on the apprenticeship program completion. I know it’s a big achievement for you. I was once one of HP’s biggest supporters. That was before the double standards of moderating became utterly ridiculous. I appreciate the course link! I’ve already seen a couple I’m planning on taking. Many thanks, and again, congratulations!

    • Thank you! I know a lot of people have become disenchanted with HP what with the idle hubs and all. But I did learn a lot about SEO, titles and how to out together a quality hub. I also make most of my money from HP, so I really can’t complain. They’ve been good to me. You’re quite welcome for the link. I’m still browsing through the classes but I’ve quite a few more already that I want to take. I love medicine and I think these courses will give me more material for hubs and (most importantly) keep my mind active and sharp!

  3. flemily says:

    Congrats on completing your apprenticeship! And, interesting about the college courses…I love taking classes online. Love the new banner too!

  4. ttoombs08 says:

    Congrats, DOM! Glad you learned something from HP. πŸ™‚ Yah, I’m one of the disenchanted ones. LOL I really wanted to take the AP but after being turned down 3 times, I’ve decided I’ll take my show on the road.

    Awesome share with the link! I’ll have to check into that. The local college didn’t offer anything I was interested in.

    • Thanks Terrye! I can’t believe you were turned down THREE times for the AP??? WTF???? That’s insanity! I can understand why you’d be pissed off at HP!

      There’s another site too that offers free courses, I’ll have to find it for ya!

  5. Well done on passing the AP program. I am not brave enough to try it whilst I have a child at home, just too distracting.

I Love to Hear from My Readers! Please Leave a Comment!!

