Getting Organized for WAHMs Just Getting Started


My blog planner which contains my plans for upcoming posts, my blogging business plan and my weekly task list from my HMN.

One of the downfalls of being a mom is the innate urge to be superwoman. We try to do everything, and unfortunately, we just can’t.

For the work at home mom (WAHM), this need to do everything is even greater. We want to run a business, take care of our families and have a spotless house all at the same time. But usually, one or more of these areas suffers from neglect.

As most of you know, I’m fairly new to the whole WAHM arena. I’ve been doing this for a little over a year, and I’ve only been seriously blogging for about six months. Even so, I’ve learned a great deal about the most efficient ways to run a freelance writing business, clean a home and homeschool a child during those six months. Although, I’m far from an expert.

The most important thing I’ve learned is that it is imperative to stay organized! 

I know organization isn’t for everyone. But if you’re going to be a WAHM, it has to be for you. There is no way you can keep track of EVERYTHING in your head and expect to not become overly stressed, or worse. We all know what happens when we get stressed out, those closest to us get the brunt of it.

When I first started out as a freelance writing WAHM, I had absolutely no organization, and no method of organizing anything. Although I got into a routine when doing my chores (and miraculously everything got done, albeit not every day), my client work was in total disarray, and I didn’t have any idea when things were due. That includes bills.

I then read an article about home management notebooks, and realized what I was doing wrong. Once I put my own HMN together, things became much easier. But I was still overwhelmed. I was trying to be superwoman, and I had no direction. Where did I want to go with this freelancing business?

Then I attended a webinar that talked about setting goals, and it mentioned that for anyone starting a business whether it’s blogging or anything else, you need to create a business plan and set goals.

But they need to be specific goals. In fact, the more specific they are, the more likely you are to reach them. If you can attach an emotion to them, even better. For example, starting a freelance writing business is a worthy goal, but there’s no emotion to it. Starting a freelance writing business so that my husband can stay home and not have to work has a lot more emotion in it.

So, I created a blogging business plan and thought about what I really wanted to accomplish with this freelancing thing. I also thought about why I really wanted the business to be successful. I then wrote out a number of steps that I needed to accomplish in order to achieve the goal and then attached a due date to it, which lends a bit of accountability.

I put this business plan and all my goals into my blogging planner. I also keep my weekly to do list from my HMN in my blog planner. This allows me to keep everything together, which keeps my goals and business plan accessible and most importantly visible. I can’t forget what my goals are when I see them several times a day.

How do you keep yourself organized? Do you set goals? Let me know in the comments!

Also, stay tuned. Today starts our “How I became a WAHM” series. Our guest poster today will be Emma from 3 is Family Advice!!

I’d greatly appreciate it if you’d please vote for me!! One click is all it takes!! Thank you!!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

3 comments on “Getting Organized for WAHMs Just Getting Started

  1. Very true Melissa and great post for WAHM’s. Also, love the new header!! 🙂

  2. […] the pages of information Melissa has here, as she has already written a great post about how to organize your work […]

I Love to Hear from My Readers! Please Leave a Comment!!

