Characteristics of the Successful WAHM – Discipline


One of the biggest problems with being a WAHM is that there is no boss overseeing your work, so there’s no one to make sure you get your work done.

It’s also one of the perks!

Self-discipline is probably one of the hardest things for anyone to maintain. But it’s also one of the most important. Self-discipline takes a lot of willpower. It also goes hand in hand with ambition. If you don’t have any ambition, you won’t have any self-discipline, and if you don’t have any self-discipline there’s nothing to be ambitious about.

Jean-Luc Picard

Captain Jean – Luc Picard in his captain’s chair, played by Sir Patrick Stewart. Photo via Paramount Pictures on Wikimedia Commons.

I used to be one of the most disciplined people you’d ever meet. Almost like Jean – Luc Picard on Star Trek: Next Generation. If you’ve never seen Next Gen, I would highly recommend watching just a few episodes to understand the type of character Sir Patrick Stewart played. In fact, I think Picard had a bit of Stewart’s personality. At any rate, Picard is one of my favorite characters on TV because of his extremely high level of discipline and integrity.

While I still have that level of integrity, I don’t have that amount of self-discipline anymore. But I did. In fact I could pinpoint the moment I lost all of my discipline, or at least what I had left after Dickens died. It was when Greg became injured on the job. Him being home all day has really wrecked havoc on my willpower.

Now don’t get me wrong. It’s my own fault, not his, and I do like him being home for the most part. But willpower is like a muscle. The more you use it, the stronger it gets, but you can also overwork it, which tires it out just like any muscle that is overworked.

Even if you’ve never had self-discipline, it is possible to develop it, but it takes a strong mind to do so.  One of my most favorite sayings is:

Mind Over Matter

Mainly because it is so true. If you make up your mind to do something, you can do it. My perfect example is my weight loss. I put my mind to losing weight because it was causing high blood pressure and I was borderline diabetic, (plus I looked fucking fat and hated my body) and I lost 70lbs in a year. I worked out 6 days a week, getting up at 04:30 am to work out before going to work. I stuck to a diet that I designed for myself based on research I had done, and I lost the weight.

That story is also the perfect example of how willpower can become tired. After I lost all that weight, I quit my job for reasons of integrity, and at the same time my dog Dickens was stricken with cancer and died. I got through it, but it was tough. She became paralyzed, and I felt bad taking time to work out while she just laid there, and I felt feel REALLY fucking guilty. I think that’s part of the reason I never got back into the routine. I still feel guilty for taking that time out when she needed me.

This was the early stages of the cancer. Her back legs were paralyzed but she still pulled herself around with her front legs. Most of the time I brought her water and food, and cleaned her because she couldn’t go potty outside.

That’s one of the main reasons I loathe, despise and abominate emotion. It’s irrational, and in my case, it’s literally going to kill me because my health is suffering.

But… I digress…

The point is, if I put my mind to it, I can get back in the saddle. I did it once, I can do it again. But self-discipline is TOUGH. It’s not easy to keep yourself motivated to do what you need to do every day. Not to mention life just loves to throw us obstacles like stress and emotions.

But to be a successful WAHM, we have to push through all the bullshit. This life isn’t easy. It’s not supposed to be. But we all have it within us to overcome anything life throws at us.

Mind Over Matter

Have you gone through a situation that required you to push through it? I’d love to hear your story! Tell us in the comments below!

Don’t forget to vote please!! I greatly appreciate it!!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

2 comments on “Characteristics of the Successful WAHM – Discipline

  1. So true about pushing through and do that quite often myself. Hope you are feeling a bit better and was thinking of you this morning.

I Love to Hear from My Readers! Please Leave a Comment!!

