Blogging and Photography


If you’ve been reading my blog, you know I’ve been playing around with photography a bit lately. Well, there’s actually a reason for this. I recently read a post called “You Asked: Thoughts and Tips on Blogging” on one of my favorite blogs by Jen Jones:

iheartorganizing

I heart iheart organizing. It’s an awesome blog about… yup… organizing.

One of the things she mentions in her post on blogging tips is photography and how it can make or break a post. One of the main things I learned is that bigger is actually better. I know, weird right?

I used to put pictures on the side of my posts and let the text wrap around, but I looked through her blog, and several others (like Dooce, and the Bloggess, you know the ones who are actually really successful and make a living blogging) and I found that all of their pictures are huge, and crystal clear.

Like this:

Or This:

Or This:

Or Even This:

So, if you plan on becoming a blogger, or have just started blogging, I recommend you start practicing photography. I did the above pictures with just an older 5mp Olympus point and shoot, so it can be done. But I plan on upgrading to a bigger, better camera when we get our tax refundย  (come on IRS!!). I’ve found photography is really a lot of fun, but it does require practice.

I can definitely see the benefit of having large, clear pictures on your blog. It really catches the eye, and adds interest to the actual content. In fact, when I thought about it, I realized I love looking at blogs with beautiful pictures, and my favorite blogs all have large, clear, beautiful photographs and quite a few of them. I also noticed that when I look at a new blog, if it doesn’t have a lot of pretty pictures, I’m more likely to dismiss it rather than follow it.

If you do invest in a camera – and if you plan on making blogging a career or business you should – keep in mind that it could be a tax deduction, so save the receipt and get a warranty!! These things ain’t cheap!!

What kind of camera do you use for your blogging photography? Let me know in the comments!

Don’t forget to vote! One little click is all it takes! Come on, you know you want to… Please?

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

10 comments on “Blogging and Photography

  1. stacyharris28 says:

    I have a Nikon D5000… and a Kodak Easy Share and a water camera (I don’t know the brand) and I have my phone. I switch back and forth depending on when I am taking the pictures and what the picture is of. Sometimes I use my own photos and sometimes I grab them off the internet, but I do find that when I look at my stats, the pictures actually get me some views! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I’m the same way, sometimes I grab photos off the web, but I’ve been trying to use my own pics recently. I also noticed that my Project 365 page gets the most hits, and it’s all pictures. So there has to be something to this picture thing.

      I was looking at the nikon D5000 as well as the canon EOS rebel t3i and I really can’t decide between the 2! lol ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I use my iPhone for a quick fix, but then do a ton of editing on my photos, but Kevin works for Canon and for the big events I either use my Canon point and shoot or his DSLR. But I usually like wrapping my text around my pictures, but gave me a bit of food for thought on this one. Thanks and loving the new updated look, too ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I use my phone for quick snapshots too. I’m actually leaning toward the cannon EOS rebel t3i, but I’m not 100%. I really liked wrapping my text around my pictures too. I think that’s because that’s on HP the text wraps around the photos on the right hand side. Now that I see what it looks like on the blog when the pics are center stage, I kinda like it. ๐Ÿ˜€ It does take some getting used to though.

  3. Oh I know it! These are beautiful!

  4. Awesome post, Mel. I am addicted to photography and art. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Lovely post! Have to agree with you, because I’ve also just recently discovered a love for taking photos. I try and use my own images in my blog posts as much as possible. Right now I’m using my phone to take them and they come out pretty well. My hubby is keen on getting his hands on a decent camera this year, so hopefully when he does, he’ll let me use it to snap some pictures because I will have a field day!

I Love to Hear from My Readers! Please Leave a Comment!!

