It’s Official I’m the Poud New Owner of A…


Nikon D5100!!

The Nikon D5100We finally got our refund today, and after paying all the bills (whew!!) I had to decide between the Canon EOS Rebel T3i, or the Nikon D5100.  I chose the Nikon based on the information available on their website. Surprisingly, they had quite a bit more available versus the Canon website. I was actually a bit disappointed, because the information I really wanted (whether or not the Rebel captured audio) wasn’t blatantly available. On the Nikon website, all of the D5100 features were clearly spelled out. Plus, Nikon had a lot of multimedia showing this camera in use. Their spec sheet was very well laid out, and it was generally just easier to find information quickly because their site was more organized (and more in depth).

I also chose the Nikon because of my experience with it in ophthalmology. When it comes to ophthalmic photography, the Nikon has the better camera. It’s more user friendly, and it’s easier for beginners to capture clear images on the first shot. Canon’s on the other hand are a bit more obnoxious.

The Nikon D5100

Honestly, it just looks like a meatier camera to me. You can bet I’ll have a TON of images to upload soon (I hope WordPress has enough space!!). The features of this camera are as follows:

  • 3-inch, 921,000-dot Super-Density horizontal type Vari-Angle LCD Monitor
  • In-camera Special Effects Mode, 1 Yr Camera / 5 Yrs Lens
  • In-camera HDR (High Dynamic Range)
  • Stunning Full 1080p HD Movies with Full Time Autofocus
  • ISO Sensitivity: 100-6400 (Extended Mode: 100-25600)

If you want more detailed info on what this camera has check out the Nikon website.

nikon3

This little beauty is supposed to arrive Friday, thanks to Amazon Prime and their free two day shipping! I can’t wait to my hands on this thing!!

nikon2

Are you drooling yet? I know I am! lol

Please don’t forget to vote for me! It just takes one click!! Thank you!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

5 comments on “It’s Official I’m the Poud New Owner of A…

  1. Too bad, you didn’t talk to me. Kevin works at Canon and could have gotten you his company discount. But your new camera looks awesome and know you will enjoy it!! 🙂

    • Actually had we decided to go with the Canon I was going to ask you about it, but Greg really swayed the decision. In my experience both are great cameras, and I think we really would have been happy with either one, but Greg “liked” the Nikon better. I’ve been mulling this over for weeks lol and it’s not like price made any difference since they were both the same! I have to say, one of the toughest purchases I’ve had to make since I bought my laptop. Buying a car wasn’t even this hard!! I just sat in the driver’s seat of my Nissan and knew it was the one! Buying electronics is so much harder lol 😉

      Thanks by the way. If we happen to return it and go for the Canon I’ll let you know 😀 Thanks again that’s really very kind of you!! You guys are AWESOME!!

      • My pleasure seriously and for me Canon is the only option since Kevin works there. He would kill me if I got a Nikon, lol!! As is when I use my iPhone for pictures he busts my chops!! 🙂

  2. Rich Rumple says:

    Okay, I’m jealous. Sure beats my Fuji! Good post!

I Love to Hear from My Readers! Please Leave a Comment!!

