First Day With Camera – Already up to My Knees in Shit


I mean that literally, too.

So I got the Nikon today… I LOVE IT!!! OMG!! But I totally ended up in some shit with it…

Greg was kind enough to take Sam with him to the store. Just before they left, UPS stopped by with my much anticipated package! Greg stayted for the unwrapping and then left shortly after I plugged in the battery. Once the battery was charged,

I decided to go out and play with my new toy.

I was trying to take a picture of these gorgeous purple weeds flowers. I took them with our point and shoot camera and they came out pretty good. Here’s the photo for reference:

Right so I’m taking a photo of these flowers again and since the Nikon has a 55mm lens on it, I can get a helluva lot closer. Unfortunately, I needed to steady myself. Without thinking about it, I put my knee down so that I could rest my elbow on it to get the shot.

I took the picture, looked at it, decided to take another and then got up. Instantly, I felt this wet, cold sensation on my knee. I look down, and sure enough,

I actually knelt down in shit.

Here it is, just to show you…

Doesn’t that just make you want to go and have a snack? Maybe some chocolate?

Needless to say, I ran inside and cleaned the shit out of my leg… pun intended. Soap, scalding hot water and all. Then I went back out and snapped the shit picture (heh heh) you see above. But at least something good came out of it…

Here’s those purple flowers with my new Nikon D5100

This thing is AMAZING!!! Check out these shots that I took afterwards!

This was a really interesting pine cone, so I had to snap it!

There are a ton more, but I need to save something for Pic of the Day!  Okay, one more:

This is the first GOOD picture I have gotten of this little kitty. She’s always moving and our older camera just couldn’t focus on her. But damn, that Nikon KICKS ASS!!!

Don’t worry, I’m sure there will be more tomorrow for your viewing pleasure!

Don’t forget to vote for me please!! It only takes one click and that’s it! I’d greatly appreciate it!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

12 comments on “First Day With Camera – Already up to My Knees in Shit

  1. Awesome camera and damn you are reminding me that I need to use my Canon cameras more and my iPhone less!! But the damned iPhone is always with me and so convenient!!

    • I have an HP Veer which has a 5 mp camera on it, and I loved using that one, but it only took great pics outside. I was always frustrated by all of our cameras though because I could never get these close up shots. So even though my HP Veer is much more convenient (its about quarter of the size of an iPhone) I’ll be tacking the Nikon everywhere! lol

  2. Great photos by the way and you deserve this. Enjoy 🙂

  3. Cyndi says:

    Great pics! Glad you’re having fun with your camera. 🙂

    • Thanks Cyndi! I’ve been playing with the manual settings and I’ve found manually focusing the lens gives me a LOT more control over what pics I can take. I never realized photography was so fun! It’s really exciting when you get those AWESOME shots! lol 😀

  4. Cathy says:

    You’re hired! Beautiful photos. If this is your first try I can imagine what lovely pics you’ll snap next time!

    • lol Cool!! I’ve been thinking about selling my pictures,but I wouldn’t have the first clue how to do it. I’m fascinated by what this camera can do. I think I’ll invest in a telephoto lens next… I love extreme close ups! 😀

  5. Kristi says:

    I’ve been wanting a good camera forever and now I want one even more (so jealous!). Your pictures came out amazing. Sometimes, I guess you have to kneel in shit to get to the flowers 🙂

    • lol indeed!! Shit does fertilize them well! lol I’ve been wanting a camera for awhile too! I’m so glad I decided to buy one with this tax refund. WELL worth the money! Next to my laptop it’s the best purchase I’ve made so far.

  6. Kristiina says:

    Haha, totally put down my mocha as I read this! Looks good! Which Nikon did you get? I’ve had the 5100 for about a year and I barely started using manuel mode. I’m chicken like that.

    Love your kitty!

    • lol I’m glad you put the mocha down!! We got the D5100, a lot of my favorite bloggers use the 5100. I LOVE it!! This thing is amazing. Manual mode is really tricky though. You have to have a really steady hand (and I don’t always as evidenced in the above post lol). I’ve tried the all manual mode, setting aperture, shutter speed etc., but that’s REALLY tough, my eyes tend to glaze over when I read about it 😉 Manually focusing the lens is better for close up shots (for me anyway), but for distance I let the camera do it lol. Thanks for stopping by!

I Love to Hear from My Readers! Please Leave a Comment!!

