Life as a WAHM Guest Post Series – Janine Huldie


Janine Huldie is our guest blogger for the month of March who will be contributing to the Life as a WAHM Series. I’m SOO excited that she was kind enough to take time out of her busy schedule to be a part of this series, and I know you’re going to thoroughly enjoy her insight to life as a WAHM. I’m hoping she’ll share all her secrets on how she gets everything done! She’s a amazing!

So, without further ado, here’s Janine!

How exactly did I become a Work at Home Mom (WAHM)? A valid question question that one may ask when reading my daily blog.

I think I need to start at the beginning. So for that, I have to talk a bit about me and my pre-mommy days. I was a certified middle school teacher, who lost her teaching position due to our lovely economy or the lack thereof during my second pregnancy with my daughter, Lily.

For those who don’t know me (and for those who do sorry if I am restating the obvious here), I am the mother of two little girls, who are 16 months apart. Yes, I know they are considered Irish Twins, but then again I referred to them as this in one of my early articles and an extended family member actually corrected me on Facebook by telling me they were only indeed Irish Twins if they are born in the same calendar year. So I stood corrected, but my actual response was quite simple in that what kind of lunatic has two kids born the same year if they aren’t in fact real twins or not Tori Spelling!!

Don’t get me wrong, I love being home with my kids, but after the 19th Nervous Breakdown of the day (and believe me folks) that is being generous it gets old. But back to crazy, because I do believe it is the word of the day over and over in our house.

However, back to how I began to work from home. It all happened rather quickly and on a lark. I get job notifications from Monster Jobs and I kept seeing a job posting for something called Hubpages. Finally, one day I clicked on the link. I took one look and thought this sounds intriguing and signed up. When I first started to write on Hubpages, it was more about my fun, but time consuming hobby of collecting charm bracelets, specifically Pandora and Trollbeads.

But then inadvertently, I began to publish articles that were on a bit more personal nature. One of them was actually born from the fact that my not quite 2 year old was already going through the “Terrible Twos” and throwing temper tantrums. I wrote how I dealt with her behavior and gave a few pointers for those possibly experiencing the same thing.

The article was an instant hit and I loved how sharing about what I truly knew best, my kids, made me feel like I was on top of the world. That is when I started to get the notion that maybe I could blog. I saw others doing this and sharing more about their personal, daily lives this way.

My blog was, thus, born with the notion of being a true sounding board for all the insanity in my daily life of being a mom and wife, too. Crazy is as crazy does, but then again I will ask this, have you ever had two little girls 16 months apart, who are obsessed with Cinderella and Disney Princesses to take care of all day long??

If you have then you may know where I am going with this, but if not hang on to your seats, because it is a bumpy ride, but I promise it is rewarding, too. And as the old saying of walking a mile in someone’s shoes goes, this one can totally apply here.

This is where my blog truly comes in, because I enjoy sharing these types of adventures and so much more on there. Not only do I love this, but it is truly satisfying to not only share, but find others who can relate a bit to my life.

So even though, my house is nuttier than a batch of peanut butter cookies,my kids are still mine and I love them with all my heart. And if you read my blog or new to it, you will quickly see that as sarcastic as I am about my kids and even my husband, just how much I do adore them and my life.

Thank you Melissa for letting me take over your blog for the first in this weekly series for the month of March. Join me next week, same place, same time, same bat channel for the next installment that will give you an idea of my daily life and work routine.

Again, thank you Janine for being so kind to share your story with us!

If you enjoyed this post, vote for me!! I’d greatly appreciate it, and you can vote once a day!! Just click the banner below!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

6 comments on “Life as a WAHM Guest Post Series – Janine Huldie

  1. Yay Janine! You are a rockin WAHM! How do you say that, anyway? Is it like “WHAM!” or more like “wom” (rhymes with mom).

    I would love to be a WAHM, but I have yet to find a way to do so. I’m still looking for writing opportunities and hoping to find some by the time I’m done with this sub job. 🙂 This is good to know that there are possibilities for people like me!

    • Thank you so very much and I actually was considering subbing before doing this, but most of my wages would have gone to daycare. So, when I got involved with writing online, I was so happy that I could do something monetarily and still be at home with my kids. Don’t get me wrong, I am still not racking in the dough, but at least it can pay for a bill here or there now. And I totally wish you luck and success in your venture when your sub job ends 🙂 🙂

    • I’m not making a whole lot of money from writing online, but it does pay a few of the bills. It’s possible, but it takes a LOT of work!! I think it’s pronounced wom lol 😀

  2. Thanks Melissa for this honor and allowing me to take over for a few posts (this one included). totally appreciate it and can’t say that enough!! 🙂

I Love to Hear from My Readers! Please Leave a Comment!!

