Life as a WAHM Guest Series: Janine Huldie’s Daily Routine


I’m proud to welcome Janine back to Mommy Writings for our second installment of Life as a WAHM. Today, Janine tells all about her day and how she manages to get everything done! I don’t know about you, but I’m ecstatic to see how Janine manages to blog, and care for her family as well as the household.

Janine’s Daily Routine

Janine even received an award for her amazing mom abilities!! Photo courtesy of Janine's Confressions of a Mommy - a - holic

Janine even received an award for her amazing mom abilities!! Photo courtesy of Janine’s Confressions of a Mommy-a-holic

I am back for the second week and installment.  This time out, I am going to share my daily routine as a WAHM.

Having two small kids that are only 16 months apart only one word can describe my daily life and that is “Crazy!”  That said if you were a fly on the wall in my home, you would see that I begin my day usually between 6:30 and 7 am in the morning.

The reason is that my husband and partner in crime wakes up to get ready for work around this time.  The house is still relatively quiet, because he usually goes to take a shower and our girls are still asleep.

I admit the first thing I do with having peace reign is open my trusty friend, my Macbook and go through e-mails that have accumulated from the night before.  Once I get to the bottom of them and check out new blogs and Hubpages articles published by friends overnight.

One thing I have learned and that I try to do is read and share as much of my friends’ work as possible.  I think we can all agree that it is nice to know that you have people who do have your back and care enough to read, leave a short comment and even share or pass on to others if possible.  So, this is exactly what I do in the early portion of my morning.

Once that is done, my latest post that was pre-scheduled usually is live by then and will share on all the social media networks that I can.

Then it is usually time to either wake my girls or have them awake and raring to go.

Emma is my morning person.  She very much loves the morning and from the time she was about 2 years old would tell me, “The moon is not out and the sun is, so it is time to wake up!”

However, Lily (Ms. Go Big or Go Home) usually will wake up crying and whining telling me, “I want juice!”  Yes, she has one track mind and this kid knows exactly what she wants.

Once, the first glass of juice is had in the morning.  Then, both my girls use the bathroom, because they are both fully potty trained (Emma is 3 1/2 years old and Lily is a little over 2 years old).  Yes, I know Lily is young to be completely potty trained, but am so thankful that she is and totally was all her (if you read my blog, you know the story behind this).

The girls love their skirts! Photo Courtesy of Janine's Confessions of a Mommy-a-holic

The girls love their skirts! Photo Courtesy of Janine’s Confessions of a Mommy-a-holic

Once the bathroom trip is done, my girls get dressed for the day.  And I do have two little princesses (even as I write this Lily is walking around with her Barbie Princess doll that sings, “Princesses want to have fun!”) that need to wear skirts everyday.  Yes, I swear these two kids both won’t wear an outfit unless a skirt is a part of it.

Breakfast is next and then I do their hair, because they are again Princesses, especially Emma, who doesn’t like her hair in her face (Pigtail, ponytails and recently braids, too rule!).

Once I am done with this (I am truly grateful for this), I get to take a shower.  My parents live upstairs, so usually the girls hang out with my mom, during this time.  And I get a few minutes of peace and quiet to take shower, which I swear I love my mom for more than life itself!!  That shower makes me feel human and then I am able to get my real day started.

The next portion of the day includes getting a workout in (even for a half hour) on my stationary bike, while the kids play and hang out with me (I am trying to get slim/fit for the summer).  They usually watch Disney Jr and by this time Doc McStuffins is on.

After this, I check in online for a bit and then I get lunch together for the girls.  We usually eat lunch (yes I try to get a quick bite to eat, too).  During lunch, silliness usually reigns and even a bit more crazy times can also occur.  Lately, I have had to fight Lily to eat this meal (for some reason my picky eater has decided lunch is optional).

On the days, Emma has pre-school it is usually around this time that we take her to school and then I come back to try to get Lily to nap.  If Emma doesn’t have school, she too will nap (she still loves her naps).

If nap-time is successful, this is when I get to write and also check in on social networks to see what is new.  This is truly my most productive time of the day and that is why I have tried to hold onto nap-time with my kids for as long as I have.

Because once nap-time is over, then it is either time to go get Emma from school or even think about dinner and bath-time.

Kevin and the girls. Photo courtesy of Janine’s Confessions of a Mommy-a-holic.

Kevin also gets home from work now between 5:30 and 6 pm.  And once he is home and everyone has eaten dinner, then the kids are usually occupied playing in their room for a bit, Kevin works out for a bit and I surf the web, reply to comments on my own blog and possibly comment more on other blogs, too for about a half hour checking in on friends and such.

Then, it is time to unwind for the day.  We usually hang out together with the kids for a bit.

And after that, it is bedtime, where the girls use the bathroom, brush their teeth and then get tucked in.  Lights are usually out at this point, but I would be lying if I told you they went to bed that easily.  We usually get a few trips out of bed for each girls asking for a tissue, one last kiss or anything that could prolong falling asleep, but once they are asleep I must admit we are lucky, because for the most part they sleep all night and don’t hear from them again until around 8 am the next morning.

Once they fall asleep, I usually catch up on the DVR, read or finish up any last minute chores.

And that my friends is a day in my life.  Not very glamorous, but it is my life and believe me when I tell you I wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world.  Yes, it can be crazy, but then again it is also quite entertaining, especially some of the things that my kids come out with daily and that is why I blog/write, because I never want to forget this time in my life and have a record of it to share with my girls when they are older.

Thanks again Melissa and will be back next week with a bit of advice for the WAHM that is just starting out.  Until next week!!

WOW! I don’t know about you, but I’m exhausted after just reading this post!! Janine, you truly are an amazing woman! Thank you so much for sharing your day with us!

If you’d like to be a guest blogger for the WAHM series, leave a comment below, or email me.

If you like my blog, please don’t forget to vote!! You can vote once a day, and you’ll have my undying gratitude if you do!! 🙂

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

5 comments on “Life as a WAHM Guest Series: Janine Huldie’s Daily Routine

  1. Insane…Janine, I don’t know how you do it. I don’t have kids and I don’t fit in half the amount of reading and comments that you do. You are superwoman…seriously!! Was good to hear about your day – it sounds hectic but I know you love the opportunity to be at home with your two girls and do what you love. 🙂 Thank you Mel for sharing!

    • Oh thanks so much Mel. Ironic, I have Emma sick for the past few days and feel anything but Superwoman right now. So tired and just just so wanting a break! And thank you again Melissa for letting me speak here and for your wonderful support. Totally appreciate it!! 🙂

      • I’m sure you do want a break!! It’s insane how much you do every day!! I thought I was doing well, but comparatively I’m lazy! lol. Thank you for being a part of this guest blog series!! I absolutely love reading your posts!

    • I know, she’s definitely superwoman!! I really wish I could get all of that done in one day! Personally I need about 48 hours in one day! lol 😀

      • I am sorry, I had Emma sick now for days and a finally checking in again. Thank you seriously for your comments, but I have felt anything, but Superwoman these past few days!! Melissa, I can’t even begin to tell you the craziness around here these past few days. Think I may actually use this scenario to my advantage for my last and fourth guest post on here 🙂

I Love to Hear from My Readers! Please Leave a Comment!!

